Observation #5: Insanity

Insanity is claimed to be the hardest workout program ever put out on DVD. However, after having finished the P90X total body training program over the summer with my mom, I was confident that I could tackle this new program with ease.

I could not have been more wrong.  5 minutes into the warm up for the fit test of Insanity and I was breathing hard and sweating as much as I did during the normal cardio for P90x.  But I was determined to keep going because of how inspired I was by others’ success stories and how highly people spoke of the program.  One of my favorite things about the program is how compact and simple it is.  Shaun T, the trainer, fits the program into a mere 60 days to get you in the best shape of your life. You don’t need weights to do it, heavy equipment, or resistance bands.  All you need is yourself and a lot of determination.

The schedule is easy to follow.  It simply tells you which workout to do each day and there is a check box to mark each one off.  I printed it and keep it on my wall because having it there in front of me really kicks my butt into doing it each day, even if I’m tired and beaten from the day before.  The only confusion I have with the program is on the sheet sometimes it says “Plyometric Cardio Circuit” and sometimes it just says “Cardio Circuit”.  Others agreed with me that at first they thought this meant there was a separate “Cardio Circuit” video even though there is not.

I would probably not recommend this program to most people.  It was very difficult for me after I had been exercising all summer.  However, if you exercise fairly regularly and you’re ready to take your body and fitness level to the next level, this is the program that will get it done and get it done fast.  I am currently on day 12 and am already seeing the changes.  I will be continuing the rest of the program with a strong will… and a sore back.

Leave a Reply

